NaNoWriMo #fail For The Win!

My NaNoWriMo efforts are failing miserably. I am nowhere near where I should be at this point in the month.

What can I say? I work full time. I usually squeeze my writing into a one-horu block in the mornings before I hit the office. During that hour I usually get about 200 to 300 words on the page. Pretty measly when you consider that to complete NaNoWriMo you’d have to crank out an average of 1,666 words a day. And that’s assuming you don’t have any bad days or distractions.

I had a really hard time getting into the zone to write during my lunch breaks and after work at night. It was hard to get myself focused on writing on the weekends too, when I was usually catching up on my Hulu queue and reading and watching movies and other more relaxing, passive activities. My brain took a few weeks of warming up to the idea.

So I’m behind. It’s not likely I’ll be a NaNoWriMo success this year.  But I’m still pretty thrilled with my experience so far.

Because while I’m nowhere near my 50,000 words, my efforts at writing at new times is paying off. I cranked out 1,000 words on Saturday, the first time I’ve written that much in once day ever. And I’ve done it every day since.

It feels fantastic to break through the habits that have been holding me back and get those creative juices flowing more frequently day after day.

So I’m officially counting this NaNoWriMo fail as a win.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo #fail For The Win!

  1. I think it’s awesome that you’re doing it at all! I was going to this year, but it just wasn’t a reality with everything else I have going on. But now I kind of wish I’d given it some kind of effort. It probably would have been worth it!

    • It’s definitely an adventure worth trying sometime. Regardless of whether or not you reach 50,000 words, it’s a great way to refocus and get enthusiastic about your writing.

Leave a Reply

