Books for Creativity: Creative Girl

Creative Girl, by Katharine Sise, is an a-to-z manual for women trying to find their creative passion and turn it into something they can make a living off of.

I first picked up Creative Girl at my library a little dubious of the girly and unsophisticated cover and the perky tone on the intro, which reminded me too much of the cheerleaders I knew in high school. But I was jaded on books about creativity that read like text books. I’m so glad I gave it a chance.

Sise is indeed pretty perky, but even through paper her enthusiasm and confidence are contagious. It did not take me long to get over of my high school flashbacks and start dreaming with her about the fabulous creative career ahead of me.

The first half of the book propels your head into the clouds, urging you to daydream about the possibilities. If you do not already know your passion, she helps you find it with advice, resources and short workshops you can do on your own. If you do, this serves as a refresher course of sorts, or you can skip on to the next section without missing a beat. I found that even though I already knew my passion was writing, it was a lot of fun to dream about all the different ways I could build a creative career path with my pen.

Then in the second part of the book, Sise eases your feet back to solid ground. She gives practical advice on bringing that passion into your life now and in your future. This includes tips on talking to your boss about ways to integrate more creativity into your current job, negotiating with your boss for more flexibility in your job so that you have more time outside of work to pursue your creative passion on the side, changing careers, and writing a business plan to make the leap into living off your passion. Whichever best fits yours dreams and personality.

Feet on the ground, head in the clouds. It’s the CG way.

And Sise has the creds to back up her talk. After heading to NYC to pursue a career as an actor, she decided to stop waiting tables and support herself between gigs by creating jewelry. Now, she’s fully supported by that jewelry and it’s led her to gigs with HSN, Good Morning America, and more. And in the meantime she’s developed a publishing career. Pretty cool.

So Creative Girl isn’t just some chick spouting off, it’s solid advice from someone who’s climbed the mountain herself and made it to the top. Now, with Creative Girl, she’s cheering us on and calling out tips to help us join her up there.

I’d read this book again just to channel the creative buzz, so the fact that it also helps me find the next few steps ahead to reach my goals is just a nice bonus. It would be an enjoyable read for anyone with a desire to add more creativity into her daily life, but I recommend it to CG’s (and guys too) who are ready to take action on their creative dreams. Where Sise excels is in turning dreams into practical steps for success, so those who are ready for action are the ones who will benefit from it most. Check out Creative Girl for yourself.

Leave a Reply

