Writer’s Block: Out of Juice

I had big plans for this article tonight. It was going to be so awesome. Seriously. I was going to totally blow you away.

But instead you get this.

Because tonight, nothing is coming out right.

There are many reasons for writers’ block, and many articles out there detailing how to address each one of them. So I’m not going to bother repeating it.

Besides, I already know what my problem is: all my ideas are half-baked.

I’m really in love with a few of these ideas, too. But it’s not enough for the concept to exist. You gotta be able to back it up with the meat. Something real to share.

Tonight, I’ve got nothing. Nothing, I tell you.

It’s been a whirlwind of a month. And not even in a bad way. But let’s just say that between some overscheduling, with guests every weekend (loved having every single one of you guys, though!), launching my new short story zine, wordhaus, and some unexpected extra shifts for my job, I’ve hardly had a chance to catch my breath.

So let this be a reminder to us all: like wine, ideas have to breathe. Creativity requires space to grow.
In the chaos, I’ve had to let some of that go.

That’s life. It happens.

But then you adjust, and you get right back to it. You don’t let it get the best of you. Striking the right mix of the elements that enable you to thrive is an art that will never be perfected.

And it shouldn’t be, either. It’s times like this that I am reminded how reliant I have become on certain habits and certain arrangements always functioning just so. And that’s not good for you or your creativity either.

It’s times like this, in the chaos, when we stretch. And that’s a good thing.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block: Out of Juice

Leave a Reply

