To My 16-Year-Old Self

Emily of Chatting at the Sky is celebrating the launch of her new book Graceful by inviting people to write a letter to their teenage selves. Great idea, right? I couldn’t resist. Learn more about writing your own letter here–if you do it, link to it in the comments!

To me, age 16:

I can already you see rolling your eyes at me the concept alone. It’s okay, you’ll get over it in a few years. But for now, just chill a second and read this. It’s short.

Read. Everything. Not just the stuff you think you’re supposed to like.

Try new things. Everything’s worth trying once. Sometimes if you don’t like it the first itme, it’s worth trying twice.

Write. Write a lot. Write often.

Stop worrying about finding your life’s dream. Life isn’t about finding out what you want to do, and doing that for the rest of your life. Life is flux. You will be many, many different things over your life. You’re going to love it.

Be kind to your car. That little Civic is going to serve you well, and when it’s gone you’ll miss it a lot more than you expect.

Speak up more. Stop worrying about saying something stupid or not fitting in.

Pay attention to the people around you. Talk to them more. Take notice of who really matters to you and make the effort to keep in touch with them. They can slip away in a blink.

It’s only been 11 years since I was you. Just barely over a decade. It’s incredible how fast it goes by, and how much you’ve crammed into this time. It’s kind of too bad I can’t really tell you all this. But of course, if I could, I don’t know that I would … these aren’t things you can learn by being told, you have to live the lessons.

-Me, age 27

Tell me … what would you say to your teenage self? 

3 thoughts on “To My 16-Year-Old Self

  1. Love it. Especially about life not being about finding one purpose. Searching for that one thing is too limiting for me. I’m constantly evolving and I think that’s what life’s about.

  2. Because the medical doctor doesn’t reside every day or nightly together with the child it truly is as much as the parents to become vigilant on their child’s day-to-day activities
    and behavior’s, but even more important, what takes place to their kid whilst sleep at night. If your kid has been diagnosed of ADHD, just before letting them go on any form of medication, make your self conscious for the reality of their becoming any snoring concerns on a nightly basis or not.

Leave a Reply

