Creative Careerists: Massimo Marino

MMMassimo Marino comes from a scientist background: He spent years at CERN and The Lawrence Berkeley Lab followed by lead positions with Apple, Inc. and the World Economic Forum. He is also partner in a new startup in Geneva for smartphone applications: TAKEALL SA. Massimo currently lives in France and crosses the border with Switzerland multiple times daily.

“Daimones” is the first volume of a trilogy, and is based on personal experience and facts with an added “what if” to provide an explanation to current and past events. It is his first novel. Watch the book trailer at: http://youtu.be/gqqn0YtPrrw. “Daimones” is the recipient of the 2012 PRG Award Reviewers’ Choice in Science Fiction.

He also writes short chilling, twisted, horror stories, sometimes while having breakfast. If interested in more details about Massimo Marino, please see his full profile on Linkedin: http://ch.linkedin.com/in/massimomarino. On Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/MassimoMarinoAuthor.

How did you get to where you are now in your career? What key moments, decisions or circumstances brought you here?
One word at a time. Key moment? I became indie-pendent also at work. Not that I looked for it. It happened. As many of my age, my work was the focus of my life. Then, I put my life into focus. So far so good.

What excites you most about your work?
It’s not a work, it’s a passion, it is an evasion, it is life within life. It is a wound that does not cure itself, and a story oozes out of it. If it was work, I would have acid reflux as I had before.

What is its greatest challenge for you?
I don’t know, what is yours? I started to write when I learned how to hold a pencil in my toddler hand. My challenge was that my stories had a life of their own, I wanted to go somewhere and characters went somewhere else. I wanted something to happen and it didn’t. When I realized it was not a challenge but a blessing, I stopped thinking I had a challenge.

How do you get your best ideas?
They reach me from anything. Remember Proust? The smell of a madeleine did it. Same here. A noise, a reflection, birds chasing each other, a flower vase falling, a dog barking in the night, a powerful wind coming from nowhere and stopping suddenly. People’s conversation, a girl silently crying while eating ice cream and throwing away a letter, a train crossing announcing a train that never comes …

What do you do when you get stuck?
I don’t get stuck, the story wants to simmer. Nuance. I let it do that, I don’t fight it. I feel there is something being set up. Soon the story calls me: she’s ready.

How do you make sure you make time for creativity in your life?
I never made time for creativity, I tried to make sure to make time for everything else. That is more difficult.

What advice do you have for other aspiring creatives who want to follow in your footsteps?
If you want to write, write. Don’t wait for “the idea”, the Muse to visit you, the perfect story to visit you. You will end up your life waiting and never write a line. Write, read, write, take notes, write about everything. You want the story and the Muse to find you while you’re writing, not watching TV, playing the XBox, or having dinner with friends. Write.

2 thoughts on “Creative Careerists: Massimo Marino

Leave a Reply

