The Take-A-Break Challenge

Life’s been a whirlwind lately. While usually I recoil and hide in a dark closet to read (or write, or serial-watch my latest hulu episodes) after just one busy weekend, I’ve now had an ongoing string of busy running since about the beginning of June.

Throughout it all, I’ve been determined to stick to my schedule for things I care about, like working on my manuscript, keeping the blog going, and hitting the gym–because even when I’m feeling drained, I know I’ll be happy later when I’m closer to my dreams.

But … well, in short, the craziness has taken its toll on me in every way. I finally realized all this meant when I started my normal workout last Thursday to find my muscles were simply too fatigued to do it. I thought about all the other ways I feel fatigued mentally and emotionally, and it finally occurred to me that, hey, it’s okay to take a break every once in a while.

And so this weekend, that is exactly what I did. I did not write. I did not exercise. I did not work on anything. I did watch about ten episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (and finished season two, thank you very much).

It was fabulous.

And when I hit my keyboard this morning, the ideas were flowing again in a way they have not the last few weeks. It felt good.

So in short, sometimes, you gotta take a break. And hey, it’s summer, after all.

Why not take take a little break yourself?  

This week, I challenge you to pick something that’s been weighing on you and set it aside. Just for a little bit. I’ll even let you decide how long. I promise, your work will still be there when you return, and you’ll be all the more ready to take it on for the breather.

 

So tell me … what will you take a break from?

One thought on “The Take-A-Break Challenge

  1. Pingback: The Take-A-Break Breakdown | Creative Juicer

Leave a Reply

