#Obsession: Joss Whedon

I discovered Joss Whedon through Firefly, thanks to a friend who owned the full season. As much as I loved it, it wasn’t until I saw Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog that I started to really understand Joss Whedon’s true power … and then Cabin in the Woods put me over the edge into obsession. By the time I saw Avengers, I was ready to blindly follow him wherever his imagination would lead.

So when I heard he was releasing a movie adaptation of Much Ado About Nothing this summer, I read every article and piece of news about it that I could get my hands on.

Joss’ Much Ado project started with just a party at Joss’ house. They were just hanging out,  reading the play for fun (… reading Shakespeare. At a party. Who does that.) And then they thought, hey, what the heck, let’s film this. And so they did, using Joss’ house as the set. And it was as simple as that.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog was, of course, a very similar story–Joss and some friends created it during the writer’s strike because they were bored.

As I scour everything I can get my hands on to find Joss’ secret to brilliance, these anecdotes say it all.

First, Joss loves this stuff so much that his work isn’t work. It’s play. And the fun and passion that goes into creating them shows up on the screen in every carefully placed detail.

Second, he surrounds himself with others who share his passion and talent. (After all, art is collaboration.)

It’s more than that, of course, but this sets a rich foundation for creativity that anyone can arrange for themselves.

Whatever else goes into it, I’m addicted. The last couple months I’ve been binge-watching Buffy the Vampire slayer on Netflix (in fact, the writing of this post has been delayed several times because of this). Next on my list? Duh, Angel. Then Dollhouse. In the meantime, I’m 110 percent psyched for his next venture, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to release this fall.

I’ll be busy for a while.

4 thoughts on “#Obsession: Joss Whedon

  1. Oh, yes, it’s the passion, it’s the fun. It’s playing instead of working. It’s creating something new, just because. And reading Shakespeare at a party? What a fun group of friends, ready to leap into play with the play (couldn’t resist), because Whedon makes everything fresh and exciting.

    Thanks for mentioning Dr. Horrible, Emily. I’ve just added movie to my wish-list. 😉

  2. Pingback: Too Much to Contain - Intensity and Creativity | TalentDevelop

Leave a Reply

