3 Steps to Get Past Creative Speed Bumps

First, as promised, here’s more about the new project I alluded to in last week’s post:

My short story site wordhaus is now taking votes for the best stories of the year. The top three stories of each genre (romance, mystery/thriller, sci-fi/fantasy) will be featured in wordhaus’ first annual Best Of ebook collection. Come on over and make your votes! Learn more here.

And now on to our regularly scheduled blog post: 3 Steps to Get Past Creative Speed Bumps

Last week I talked about my personal speed bumps–when I get them, and why they hit me at those times. But we all have our own speed bumps that hit us now and then during the creative process.

So this week let’s talk about the part that matters most–getting past those speed bumps and back to the fun part of the creative process.

creative speed bumps, creative hurdles

By thecrazyfilmgirl

When I hit a creative speed bump, I have a three-step process I use to get past them and back up to speed:

1. Identify the reason behind it.
It’s pretty simple–it’s easier to get past something if you don’t know what it is. For me, creative speed bumps are usually caused by a fear. So to overcome it, I have to know what exactly about this project is scaring me off. With this project, I realized I was afraid that people would not actually cast votes.

2. Tackle it head-on.
This reason behind the speed bump then becomes my starting point to get my momentum back. I do a full-out brainstorm. So for my Best Of collection, I typed out a long list of all the different ways I could encourage people to vote, from the obvious to the absolutely crazy. When it’s a topic I don’t know much about, I get online and educate myself. This helps ease my anxiety, because now I have options. Then I can move forward and put the full plan together.

3. Come at the problem from a different angle. 
Sometimes the part of the problem is that your usual approach just doesn’t work as well for this piece of the puzzle. This may seem arbitrary and oddly specific, but when I’m really stuck, I get off my computer and pick up a pencil. I’ll start anywhere just to get my hand moving, such as writing down the problem itself. Once my hand gets moving, my brain moving, and soon the ideas start to flow again. 

We all hit creative speed bumps from time to time, no matter what kind of work we do. It’s simply part of the process. But they don’t have to hold you back. With little tricks like these, you have the power to blow past them and back to full speed.

Like it? Share it!
3 Steps to Overcoming Creative Speed Bumps from Emily Wenstrom–Click to tweet
Stuck on a creative speed bump? Get past it now in 3 steps–Click to tweet 
How to blow past creative speed bumps–Click to tweet

We all have our little tricks to get past our speed bumps. What are yours? 

One thought on “3 Steps to Get Past Creative Speed Bumps

Leave a Reply

