Holiday Hiatus

As the holidays approach, I’ve been doing a lot of assessing of how the year has gone, and changes to make in the new year. One common theme I’m noticing is that I feel constantly drained, and there’s constantly another thing to get done. And I realize, this is totally my own fault.

I’m considering what I’m going to do about this, because it’s not how I want my life to be. But as an immediate step, I’m taking a break from most online activity over my holiday break.

Starting this week, I’m not posting on the blog, and there will not be new wordhaus stories on our next two dates (Christmas Day and New Year’s Day).

Hope you’re having a great holiday, my friends. See you in the New Year.

(And if you want to read more about the bottomless nature of online platforming and the toll it can take, I recommend this post by the Renegade Writer, which inspired me to take this step.)

One thought on “Holiday Hiatus

  1. Emily, thanks for verbalizing what I’ve been feeling! Everything in our lives has two extremes… and I’m ready to move away from my “all work” polarity into a more balanced, relaxed flow. Enjoy your break, and come back rested and refreshed to the things you’re passionate about. Happy holidays to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

