And Now for Something Totally New

Hi there. Yes that’s right I’m still alive and all that. I know, I’ve been remiss in my posting responsibilities for a while here.

Things just got crazy for a while there. Not a very good excuse, but it’s the unfortunate reality, all the same.

transition to freelance

My new coworker, Pippi the Min Pin

The good news? I can finally tell you what’s been going on over here in Emily-land. Because it’s big.

I believe I’ve mentioned here before that my husband’s work was taking him to Florida. For over a year we did this back-and-forth thing where he was in Florida two weeks and then back home to DC, or I’d go visit him there, and so on.

Why live like this? We both loved living in DC. We loved our neighborhood and our neighbors. We loved all the options that beautiful crazy city held for us. I loved my job in DC. I was not ready to give up those thing so he could take a good job opportunity for a few years (and neither was my husband, really).

But. Well.

All that alone time leads to a lot of thinking. And we started to realize something. Going to Florida could actually be a huge career opportunity for me, too.

Because of the details of the support my husband’s work is offering during his time in Florida, I could pretty painlessly transition to freelance writing if I wanted. And as it happens, writing from home has been a dream of mine for many years.

Even so, it took me a long time to finally accept that I could do this, or that I should do this. It meant walking away from a life I was happy in, with great coworkers, and a very comfortable life.

Also, the real opportunity to freelance meant I had to take a hard look at the realities behind the dream. What if I didn’t get enough clients? Or any clients? What if I don’t have enough to show for myself at the end, and made myself unhirable when it was time to go back? What if I poured all that time into my fiction and got nothing but a pile of rejection letters for all my effort?

I’d end up staring failure right in the face, that’s what. Even the vague concept of it hurt a little bit.

But on the other hand, failure itself was pretty controlled in this situation. Financially, we’d be okay if I never made a single cent. The only risk I faced was a harsh reality check. And I really hate to let fear make my decisions for me.

So I bit the bullet, and here we are.

I have some big plans, and there’s a lot to do. But I’m pretty pumped up for it.

Among those plans, there will most definitely be some changes to the blog. Short term, that means more frequent posts. Long-term, that probably means a shift in focus for the Juicer, or perhaps even a new blog altogether.

But I hope you’ll stay with me along the way. And hey, if you’re curious about my freelance services, check out my website.

8 thoughts on “And Now for Something Totally New

  1. Emily, I so excited for you! I can’t wait to hear what you create in your new life. Congratulations on making your decision, and best wishes for your soaring success.

  2. Good for you, Emily. As scary as it seems, sometimes you have to take a leap of faith to do what you think is right for you. Not only that, but you’ll get to spend more time with your husband. 🙂 Best of luck on your new venture!

  3. I am so proud of and confident in you! Living creatively is as difficult as writing creatively. Congratulations and you know I’m cheering for you.

Leave a Reply

