Advice is Only Worth What You Do With It

advice is only worth what you do with itWhen you’re just beginning as a freelancer, there’s a shit ton of advice out there. Go ahead, Google, “beginning freelancer,” or “start a freelance business,” or “get your first client.”

At first, this all seems like a huge relief, and you just envelop yourself in the pages and pages of advice out there.

And then …

Well. Then you realize that no matter how much advice you read, you’ve still got to just find your own way to be your own version of success.

You realize that no matter how much advice you read, you still have to figure out how to do it for yourself–All that advice is only as good as what you do with it.

I’m super lucky to be able to do this at a time in my life where, somehow, miraculously, things have worked out in such a way that I’m not under any real pressure to make money for us to survive. Anything I earn is icing on the cake. It’s a simply matter of personal pride to stand up this freelancing thing into something real.

But something in me wants this so badly it almost hurts. And it’s got me pretty wound up.

Including time spent on fiction writing, I’m putting in about 10 hours day, if not more, working on my platform, bidding for gigs, experimenting with different kinds of opportunities, and coming up with ideas for more I can do in the coming weeks.advice is only worth what you do with it

Like most good things, finding success in freelancing seems to be a combination of persistence and a willingness to learn as you go. These are things I’ve excelled at in the past.

But the other element is patience. And this part, the waiting, boy does that make me squirm.

Are you a freelancer? How did you get your start?

Leave a Reply

