June Wrap-Up: What 30 Days of LinkedIn Has Taught Me

Sorry, I don’t post on Creative Juicer anymore.

If you like what you see & want more, join my author email list for updates on my writing, posts about sci-fi and fantasy pop culture, and other readerly fun by clicking here.


For anyone who hasn’t heard yet, my mission forTechie Showers & (5)

the month of June has been to explore ways to boost my LinkedIn presence.

I’ve been a marketing and public relations pro for years, and I’m a lexicon of social media strategy and tactics knowledge—but when it’s come to my own personal efforts, I’ve let a lot slide to the wayside for myself.

Now that I’m freelancing, I’m giving myself a kick to the rear by focusing on something new to improve on every month and sharing what I learn here.

So. LinkedIn.

To recap, here are some of the specific things I’ve focused on improving for my LinkedIn account week to week:

I have to say, by and large, I’m very pleased with the results from my efforts. I’ve added a few new people to my connections, gotten active in some very interesting Group conversations, and compared to last week, my profile views are up 50 percent. My ranking, compared to my network, has improved 28 percent over the last 30 days, placing me at 37 out of 252 accounts I’m connected to.

There’s room to keep moving up, but not bad!

This has been the result of several new behaviors combined. I’ve been surprised to find that even bigger efforts such as contributing to Groups and publishing Long Posts, are in fact a very reasonable and controllable time investment with real payoffs.

Some of my new habits that I plan to continue are:

  • Reviewing my profile regularly and adding new media and trying new keywords
  • Posting an Update every weekday morning
  • Liking, commenting or sharing at least five other updates every weekday morning
  • Identifying niche Groups to contribute to, and comment at least weekly in each
  • Sharing Long Form posts at least monthly, and more as inspiration strikes
  • Searching the freelance job listings on LinkedIn at least weekly, and applying to ones that are a good fit

One benefit I have not gained yet is actually earning new clients through LinkedIn—but given what I’ve read from other freelancers, this is a long game that will come with continued outreach, particularly with Groups. I’m seeing enough other benefits that it’s not bothering me at this point.

LinkedIn has evolved a lot over the last few years, and new features have a lot to offer. I knew a lot of this already, but preconceptions (I can’t believe it took me so long to get serious about Groups) and plain busy-ness was holding my platform back.

My efforts this month have led to significant payoffs that are definitely worth the effort.

Q4U: Have you tried these LinkedIn tactics? What’s been successful for you?


Sorry, I don’t post on Creative Juicer anymore.

If you like what you see & want more, join my author email list for updates on my writing, posts about sci-fi and fantasy pop culture, and other readerly fun by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up: What 30 Days of LinkedIn Has Taught Me

Leave a Reply

